The draw for the 12 qualifying groups for the event took place this Tuesday evening in South Africa and the Scorpions were placed into Group G with Mali, Congo and South Sudan. 

African Champions Senegal (Lions of Teranga) will face Benin, Rwanda and Mozambique in Group L. 

The Ivorians were placed in Group H. The Elephants will approach this qualifying campaign with less pressure since they are already assured of participating in this competition at home ground. 

Following their impressive display in the last tournament, Comoros will be facing Ivory Coast, as well as Zambia, ten years after their defeat in the AFCON final against Herve Renard’s Chipolopolos.

The Indomitable Lions of Cameroon will be able to prepare for their participation in the Qatari World Cup with matches against the Harambee Stars of Kenya, Namibia and Burundi.

Nigeria and Ghana fall into groups A and E with largely weaker opponents while South Africa which, in addition to their Zimbabwean neighbours, will have to face Morocco. The last AFCON finalists the Pharaohs of Egypt will face Guinea.

The African Cup of Nations (AFCON) is the most prestigious football competition in Africa. 

The next championship will take place in Cote d’Ivoire in 2023.

Africa Cup of Nations 2023 qualifying groups

Group A: Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome e Principe or Mauritius.

Group B: Burkina Faso, Cape Verde, Togo, Eswatini.

Group C: Cameroon, Kenya, Namibia, Burundi.

Group D: Egypt, Guinea, Malawi, Ethiopia.

Group E: Ghana, Madagascar, Angola, Central African Republic.

Group F: Algeria, Uganda, Niger, Tanzania.

Group G: Mali, Congo, The Gambia ,South Sudan,

Group H: Ivory Coast (hosts), Zambia, Comoros, Lesotho.

Group I: DR Congo, Gabon, Mauritania, Sudan.

Group J: Tunisia, Equatorial Guinea, Libya, Botswana.

Group K: Morocco, South Africa, Zimbabwe, Liberia.

Group L: Senegal, Benin, Mozambique, Rwanda.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please disable your adblocker and support our journalism. Thank you.