Ecowas leaders have unanimously approved the nomination of the Gambia’s Dr Omar Touray as new president of the Ecowas Commission. 

Dr Touray replaced Ivorian Jean-Claude Kassi Brou.

The veteran Gambian diplomat will serve a five year term from 2022-2026. 

The position rotates among the member states of the regional bloc.

Dr Touray made history last year when he became the first Gambian to be elected as president of the Ecowas Commission.

His election took place at a summit of Ecowas Council of Ministers in the Ghanaian capital, Accra 5 October 2022. 

Meanwhile, Guinea Bissau’s President Umaro Sissoco Embalo was appointed the new chairman of Ecowas.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please disable your adblocker and support our journalism. Thank you.