The United Nations says The Gambia is one of seven countries losing their votes in the General Assembly over arrears.

U.N. spokesman Stephane Dujarric said the seven countries -Central African Republic, Gambia, Lesotho, Tonga, Lebanon, Venezuela and Yemen – are so far behind in paying their dues that they are losing their voting privileges in the 193-member General Assembly.

Mr Dujarjic said that three other countries — Comoros, Sao Tome and Principe and Somalia — are also in arrears but the assembly decided in October that they can retain their vote until September.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *