Opposition United Democratic Party candidate Yankuba Darboe has won the Brikama Area Council chairmanship election. 

Darboe,a lawyer by profession, defeated eight candidates including National People’s Party candidate Seedy Sheriff Ceesay and Ahmad Gitteh, who stood as an independent candidate after falling out with the ruling party during a contentious run off.

Alieu Momar Njai, chairman of the Independent Electoral Commission announced that Yankuba Darboe of United Democratic Party secured 77,946 votes while Seedy Sheriff Ceesay of National People’s Party was second at 52,429 votes.

He added that independent candidates Ebrima JS Sanneh, Yankuba Barrow and Amadou Mukhtar Cham got 24,558, 1,341 and 1,127 votes respectively. 

Chairman Njai continued that the only female candidate Jainaba Bah of PPP secured 2,023 while Ahmad Gitteh, an independent candidate got 6,718 votes leaving Salieu Jallow with 1,022 votes and Bai sey Jawo with 1183 votes respectively. 

Reporting by Adama Makasuba

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please disable your adblocker and support our journalism. Thank you.